When:
Monday, Aug 19, 2019 12:30p -
Sunday, Sep 01, 2019 11:30a

Where:
Boston Harbor Islands National and State Park Ferry Center
Long Wharf (North)
Boston, MA 02110

Admission:
FREE

Categories:
Art, Kid Friendly

Event website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/typewriter-island-tickets-66937643293

Brian Sonia-Wallace and his “public typewriter” will transform the stories people share into instant-poems on the spot for participants.

In a novel approach to breaking down barriers between writing and the general public, Brian Sonia-Wallace and his “public typewriter” will transform the stories people share into instant-poems on the spot for participants to take home as a memento of their experience.

Brian will spend two weeks writing poems for those who seek him out and unsuspecting passersby alike. He will also compile the texts created into a single meta-text that weaves together the breadth of experiences people bring to this space. Visitors can also bring Brian stories, poems, pictures, and histories to become part of the tapestry of words.

Full schedule of pop-ups on Spectacle, Georges and Ferries throughout the residency:

-Monday, August 19 - 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm on Spectacle (Dock and Porch)

-Tuesday, August 20 - 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm on Georges (Near Visitor Center)

-Wednesday, August 21 - 11:00 am -12:30 pm on Spectacle (North Drumlin); 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm (South Drumlin)

-Thursday, August 22 - 11:00 am - 12:45 pm on Ferry from Georges to Long Wharf; 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm on Welcome Center (Rose Kennedy Greenway)

-Saturday, August 24 - 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm on Georges (North Picnic Area)

-Sunday, August 25 - 10:30 am - 11:30 am on Spectacle (Art Shade Shelter); 12:45 pm - 2:15 pm (Porch)

-Monday, August 26 - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm on Georges (Powder Magazine); 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm (Battery Lowell/South Picnic Area)

-Tuesday, August 27 10:30 am - 11:30 am on Spectacle (Porch); 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm (Krystle Campbell Gazebo)

-Wednesday, August 28 - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm on Georges (Bastion A, in the Fort); 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm (Guard House)

-Thursday, August 29 - 11:30 am - 12:00 pm on Spectacle Ferry/Welcome Center

-Friday, August 30 - 11:00 am - 12:30 pm on Georges (Bastion C on the Ramparts)

-Saturday, August 31 10:30 am -11:30 am on Spectacle (Porch)

Share this event

Add to:

19/08/2019 12:30:00 01/09/2019 11:30:00 15 Typewriter Island Brian Sonia-Wallace and his “public typewriter” will transform the stories people share into instant-poems on the spot for participants. In a novel approach to breaking down barriers between wri... Boston Harbor Islands National and State Park Ferry Center, Boston , MA 02110 Organizer Organizer e-mail false DD/MM/YYYY Reddit