When:
Wednesday, Jun 12, 2024 7:00p -
8:00p

Where:
Porter Square Books
25 White St.
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02140

EventScheduled OfflineEventAttendanceMode

Admission:
FREE

Hosted by:
...
psb_events Porter Square Books

Categories:

Event website:
https://www.portersquarebooks.com/event/emily-hamilton-author-stars-too-fondly

Porter Square Books is delighted to welcome Emily Hamilton for the release of her debut novel The Stars Too Fondly! This event will take place on Wednesday, June 12 at 7pm at Porter Square Books (25 White St. Cambridge, MA 02140).

RSVP below to let us know you're coming and to receive event updates!

ABOUT THE STARS TOO FONDLY

In her breathtaking debut—part space odyssey, part sapphic rom-com—Emily Hamilton weaves a suspenseful, charming, and irresistibly joyous tale of fierce friendship, improbable love, and wonder as vast as the universe itself.

So, here’s the thing: Cleo and her friends really, truly didn’t mean to steal this spaceship.

They just wanted to know why, twenty years ago, the entire Providence crew vanished without a trace. But then the stupid dark matter engine started all on its own, and now these four twenty-somethings are en route to Proxima Centauri, unable to turn around, and being harangued by a snarky hologram that has the face and attitude of the ship’s missing captain, Billie.

Cleo has dreamt of being an astronaut all her life, and Earth is kind of a lost cause at this point, so this should be one of those blessings in disguise that people talk about. But as the ship gets deeper into space, the laws of physics start twisting, old mysteries come crawling back to life, and Cleo’s initially combative relationship with Billie turns into something deeper and more desperate than either woman was prepared for.

Lying somewhere in the subspace between science fantasy and sapphic rom-com, The Stars Too Fondly is a soaring near-future adventure about dark matter and alternate dimensions, leaving home and finding family, and the galaxy-saving power of letting yourself love and be loved.

PRAISE FOR THE STARS TOO FONDLY

“The fate of the world rests in the hands of a ragtag group of queers stuck on a spaceship bound for Proxima Centauri. Even though they live in the future, their concerns are all too familiar: astrology, quoting Mary Oliver, watching The Watermelon Woman, and processing their feelings. Emily Hamilton's debut is as addictive as it is funny, and as interstellar as it is human.”

— Amelia Possanza, author of Lesbian Love Story

“Emily Hamilton’s The Stars Too Fondly begins as a quippy heist with an endearing cast, then evolves into a space comedy that has as many thoughtful explorations of the inner-workings of dark matter as the – equally complicated – relationships that make up a found family. This highly self-aware novel prioritizes care and connection, without sacrificing any of the fun of space (mis)adventure. Because sometimes saving the world starts with saving each other. I cannot wait to see readers who love Tamsyn Muir’s Gideon and Harrow go absolutely feral for Cleo and Billie.” — Micaiah Johnson, author of The Space Between Worlds

"Funny and charming, The Stars Too Fondly perfectly balances Starfleet "can do" attitude, punk swagger, and cozy rom-com vibes. Emily Hamilton's debut is a wildly original tale that feels cozy and epic at the same time. My Trekkie heart adored it." — Mike Chen, New York Times bestselling author of A Quantum Love Story

“Heartpounding, heartwarming, and flat-out fantastic, this book is as brilliant and beautiful as the stars! I laughed, I cried, I cheered -- I absolutely loved it! A new favorite!”

— Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Bone Maker

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Emily Hamilton is a science fiction author who writes about women kissing in space. Her debut novel, The Stars Too Fondly, is forthcoming from Harper Voyager (US) and Gollancz (UK) in June 2024. She is also a Smith College alum and an award-winning staff writer at the alt-weekly newspaper Seven Days. She lives in Burlington, Vermont with her wife and their tiny dog Mimi.

Event date: 

Wednesday, June 12, 2024 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Porter Square Books

25 White St.

Cambridge, MA 02140

RSVP Form: 

RSVP to attend our event with Emily Hamilton!


Share this event

Add to:

Reddit
06/12/2024 19:00:00 06/12/2024 20:00:00 America/New_York Emily Hamilton, author of The Stars Too Fondly <p><strong>Porter Square Books</strong>&nbsp;is delighted to welcome&nbsp;<strong>Emily Hamilton&nbsp;</strong>for the release of her debut novel&nbsp;<a href="https://www.portersquarebooks.com/boo... Porter Square Books, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02140 false MM/DD/YYYY

Sponsored events